Caribbean countries close borders to Britons

Caribbean countries have begun closing their borders to travellers from Britain, in a bid to stop the spread of the new Covid-19 variant.

Last night, Jamaica became the first Caribbean country to impose a ban, cancelling all flights from the UK to the island for the next two weeks. The border closure will come into effect this evening, with passengers on board today’s two remaining flights subject to quarantine and testing on arrival.

Grenada and the Dominican Republic will also be closed to UK arrivals from this evening. All travellers are advised to contact their airline or travel agent for guidance. 

A total of 45 countries are now off-limits to all UK travellers, including 23 of the EU’s 27 member states. Travel restrictions vary from Spain’s ban on non-Spanish visitors from Britain, to Croatia’s suspension of all flights until January 31. 

Scroll down for more on this story, and other breaking travel news. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>